All my own work!

Week 4 of the Short and Tweet challenge saw the S&T bakers venturing into the world of  spicy, sweet yeasted breads.

It brought back memories of my one and only lesson in bread making from over 15 years ago when the baker who was teaching us (his claim to baking immortality was that his were the hands used  in instructional photos in this classic ) informed us that bread making with spices was quite tricky.

Fortunately this proved not to be the case and I really enjoyed the whole process of making these wonderful teacakes.

What a lovely smell!

The bringing together of the spices, sugars, flour, eggs, milk and yeast produced a dough which was a joy to handle.

as I pulled the gleaming tea cakes from the oven a wave of spiciness washed over me and I couldn’t wait for breakfast to come round to try them.

Needless to say the kids were a bit wary, the youngest rejecting them out of hand (dried fruits of any description are a complete no no!).

But they were absolutely delicious, the ingredients magically combining to produce a teacake with a depth of flavour which I had never experienced before.

A brilliant recipe and if you are fortunate enough to find this book in your Christmas stocking, this should be one of the first recipes you try.

The best teacakes I've ever eaten

