So simple and so delicious

Let me qualify, this is the bread I bake for my family 1-2 a week so daily is probably stretching it a bit!

Although the ShortandTweet bakers are taking a well earned Xmas break I and I am sure others continue to bake from our book of the moment. In fact I am typing this with flour encrusted fingers waiting for 2 of these white loaves to finish thier final prove.

This was the very first thing I baked from Short and Sweet and I continue to make it again and again. My kids love it, I love it. What more is there to say?

Flour, salt, water and yeast ( fresh or dried, whatever I have to hand) come together in a few simple steps to produce our daily bread.

Yes it doesn’t have the depth and complexity of flavour of a sourdough loaf or the inherent goodness of a pumpernickel loaf,  but there are few pleasures in life,  as I re-discovered recently, that are better than a simple buttered piece of toast from such a loaf.

Merry Christmas & A Happy New Year to everyone and but especially the Short and Tweet crew.

